Citation Guides on the Web
- APA 6th Edition Corrections for 1st PrintingIncludes an overview of the corrections made to the first printing of the APA 6th Edition style manual. Includes links to a list of corrections and corrected sample papers.
- APA Style and Formatting GuideFrom The Owl at Purdue Online Writing Lab
- APA Style - Frequently Asked QuestionsIncludes examples for citing websites.
- MLA 2009 Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Owl at Purdue Online Writing Lab
- Chicago Manual of Style Online15th Edition
- CSE (formerly CBE) Documentation Style
- Bluebook 101UW Gallagher Law Library
- Citing Legal Materials in Social Science Papers - Power Point presentation
- Harvard StyleGuide from Bournemouth University
- Diana Hacker's Research & Documentation OnlineIncludes links to sample papers with highlighted layout tips for different styles. Click on "Documenting Sources" to find in-text and reference citation examples.
- Citation Style Guides for Internet and Electronic SourcesFrom the University of Alberta Libraries
- Citing Sources in APA & MLAFrom Duke University Libraries.
- Citing Online Business Sources in APA
- Citing the DSM in APADiagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)
Managing Citations in Databases
Most databases allow you to store items for later reference.
Store items temporarily
As you scan search results for interesting citations, you may wish to put them in a temporary 'parking lot' that you can go back to when you are done searching the database. These 'parking lots' eventually disappear after you have stopped using the database.
EBSCO
Click the Add to Folder link below each item to move individual citations to the temporary folder. Click the Folder icon at the top of the page to view all items added. From the folder you can print, email, or save records.To use a specific citation style, select the style under Citation Format.
ProQuest
Click the checkbox next to an item to select it. In the menu above the result list, click on View Selected Items. From the next page you can Email, Print, Cite, or Save.
UW Worldcat
Click on the title of the item to view the record. Click on Cite/Export in list of options above the title. Click the plus sign next to the desired citation format, then copy the citation and paste into a word processing or email document.
Store items permanently
EBSCO databases allow you to create an account to save items in your folder permanently. To retrieve items, click on Sign in in the upper right menu.
In UW Worldcat, you can create an account to save items to a list permanently. Select multiple items at once by clicking on the checkbox. At the top of the list, next to Save to, click on Save. To retrieve citations, go to the list and click on the Citation View tab above the first record. Select your citation style and change the Sort by order as needed. In the drop down menu next to Export Selected References, choose Rich Text to save as a Word document.
RefWorks
Refworks is a web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators that allow you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more).
There are two options for logging in to RefWorks:
Login to RefWorks with NetID [UW restricted] (more info)
OR
Login to RefWorks without NetID [UW restricted] (more info)
- Download Proxy Bookmarklet to access full text at home
- RefWorks 2.0 - guide covering creating an account, adding references, creating a bibliography, and troubleshooting problems.
- To schedule in-person training, contact Erica Coe, elcoe@uw.edu, 253-692-4651.
EndNote Web
EndNote Web is a web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators that allow you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more).
Login to EndNoteWeb [UW restricted]
- EndNote Web - UW Health Sciences Library guide.
Free Web Citation Tools
- KnightCiteCitation generator from the Hekman Library
- DocsCiteCitation generator for government documents (APA and MLA styles only) from Arizona State University Libraries.
- ZoteroA free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. See Using Zotero at UW Tacoma Library for installation instructions.

Loading...
