This is the "Citing Sources" page of the "Citation & Writing Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation & Writing Guides   Tags: citations, general_research_help, help, refworks, style, tools, writing  

Find citation style guides, citation management tools, writing/grammar guides and links to the UWT writing center.
Last Updated: Jun 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tacoma.uw.edu/citations Print Guide RSS Updates

Citing Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citation Guides on the Web

 

Managing Citations in Databases

Most databases allow you to store items for later reference.

Store items temporarily

As you scan search results for interesting citations, you may wish to put them in a temporary 'parking lot' that you can go back to when you are done searching the database.  These 'parking lots' eventually disappear after you have stopped using the database.

EBSCO

Click the Add to Folder link below each item to move individual citations to the temporary folder. Click the Folder icon at the top of the page to view all items added.  From the folder you can print, email, or save records.To use a specific citation style, select the style under Citation Format. 

ProQuest

Click the checkbox next to an item to select it. In the menu above the result list, click on View Selected Items. From the next page you can Email, Print, Cite, or Save.

UW Worldcat

Click on the title of the item to view the record. Click on Cite/Export in list of options above the title. Click the plus sign next to the desired citation format, then copy the citation and paste into a word processing or email document.

Store items permanently

EBSCO databases allow you to create an account to save items in your folder permanently.  To retrieve items, click on Sign in in the upper right menu. 

In UW Worldcat, you can create an account to save items to a list permanently. Select multiple items at once by clicking on the checkbox. At the top of the list, next to Save to, click on Save. To retrieve citations, go to the list and click on the Citation View tab above the first record. Select your citation style and change the Sort by order as needed. In the drop down menu next to Export Selected References, choose Rich Text to save as a Word document.

 

RefWorks

Refworks is a web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators that allow you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more).

Login to RefWorks without NetID (more info)

Tips & Guides
  • Download Proxy Bookmarklet to access full text at home
  • RefWorks 2.0 - guide covering creating an account, adding references, creating a bibliography, and troubleshooting problems
  • Use the without NetID option to create separate accounts for group projects so all group members can access one account.
  • To schedule in-person training, contact Erica Coe, elcoe@uw.edu, 253-692-4651.
 

EndNote Web

EndNote Web is a web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators that allow you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more).

Login to EndNoteWeb  

Free Web Citation Tools

  • KnightCite
    Citation generator from the Hekman Library
  • DocsCite
    Citation generator for government documents (APA and MLA styles only) from Arizona State University Libraries.
  • Zotero
    A free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. See Using Zotero at UW Tacoma Library for installation instructions.
University of Washington Tacoma Library | 1900 Commerce St. Box 358460 | Tacoma, Washington 98402 | 253-692-4440 | Contact Us

 

Copyright © 2009 University of Washington Tacoma Library. All rights reserved.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip